Home page / Science & Governance / AgreenSkills' Committees / AgreenSkills Scientific Committee

AgreenSkills Scientific Committee

The members of the AgreenSkills' Scientific Committee were involved in most steps of the implementation of AgSk & AgSk+ programmes as well as in their improvement and evolution. They were in charge of the evaluation of the mobility projects, based on a review by international experts, and were guarant of the quality of the whole evaluation process. They were also deeply involved in the organization and chairing of the AgreenSkills annual meetings that were very special occasions to meet and exchange with the fellows about the implementation of their project and further scientific career perspectives.

The AgreenSkills Scientific Committee was structured on the basis of 7 Expert Panels based on topics and  biological organisation levels:

  1. Infra-tissue level: virology, microbiology, structural, molecular, cellular biology, biology systems, etc.
  2. Biological individual and tissue level, simple entity level: plant or animal biology, soil sciences, pathology, immunology, parasitology and symbiosis, genetics, etc.
  3. Population level: evolutive ecology, environmental science, agronomy, animal sciences, epidemiology;
  4. Food and human nutrition, eating habits, food safety, toxicology, metabolic and nutritional diseases, veterinary public health;
  5. Bioprocess, green technology, food technology, material science, etc.
  6. Modelling, biomathematics, bioinformatics;
  7. Economics (micro and macro economics, trades and market, management science...) and social science.

List of members of the AgreenSkills Scientific Committee (chaired by Prof. Gavin Gibson and Pere Puigdomenech)

  • Professor Gavin Gibson (Co-Chair of AgreenSkills+ Scientific Committee): School of Mathematical and Computer Sciences, Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, UK
  • Dr Pere Puigdomènech (Co-Chair of AgreenSkills+ Scientific Committee): CRAG Centre for Research in Agricultural Genomics,Barcelona, Spain
  • Professor Dawn Luthe: The Pennsylvania State University (Penn State), USA
  • Dr Brigitte Mauch-Mani: University of Neuchâtel, Laboratory of Cell and Molecular Biology, Neuchâtel, Switzerland
  • Professor Sylvie de Blois: McGill School of Environment, McGill University, Canada
  • Dr Frank Hagedorn: Swiss Federal Research Institute for Forest, Snow & Landscape (WSL), Switzerland
  • Professor Luc Tappy : Département de Physiologie, Université de Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Professor Kaisa Poutanen (2012-2016) and Dr Kirsi-Marja Oksman-Caldentey (2016-2019): VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland Ltd, Finland
  • Professor Lisa Sennerby Forsse: Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences SLU University, Uppsala, Sweden
  • Professor Jan Van Impe: Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (KU Leuven), Belgium
  • Professor Anne Murcott: SOAS, University of London and University of Nottingham, UK
  • Professor Jean-Paul Chavas: University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA

Professor Steve Bishop, group leader at the Roslin Institute, University of Edinburgh, where he held the chair in animal disease genetics, has been the Chair of AgreenSkills Scientific Committee since the beginning of the AgreenSkills initiative in 2012 up to 2015. He passed away on 2 April 2015.

Steve was a wonderfully warm person and a world-renowned scientist who, as chair of the AgreenSkills scientific panel, offered constructive criticism on research proposals from across the full scientific spectrum and ensured that every proposal was given a fair hearing and every applicant was provided with constructive feedback and encouragement. Beyond his dedication to the programme, Steve touched the lives of many people across Europe and gave young researchers the chance to pursue their dreams.